Social Studies

6th Grade Social Studies

Pete Romanyshyn- promanyshyn@pthsd.net
Maria Elisa Glatz- mglatz@pthsd.net
Maria Hatzipetros- mahatzipetros@pthsd.net

Online textbook

Website: https://www.successnetplus.com/
Username:  Use your CMS user name for your email, but put pthsd in front of it
Password: Use your CMS password for your email

Curriculum

Go to district website and click on Curriculum on right side of screen
Scroll down to Social Studies and click on 6th Grade- SST 663

Description

The course content includes the development of civilization throughout the world and the respective influences of each. The development of various political, economic, and religious systems is traced.  The past experiences and their relevance to Western Civilization are explored and chronicled.  In addition, current events will be integrated throughout the year to enable students to understand connections between past and present.

7th Grade Teachers

Casey Maass – Cmaass@pths.net
Craig Penna – cpenna@pthsd.net
Lauren Hosonitz – Lhosonitz@pthsd.net

7th Grade Introduction to American Studies
Curriculum Link

http://sharepoint.pthsd.k12.nj.us/ci/Approved%20Curriculum/SST773%20Grade%207%20Introduction%20to%20American%20Studies%20).pdf

Online Textbook

http://my.hrw.com/

Topics Covered

I. BASIC MAP SKILLS AND THE FIVE THEMES OF GEOGRAPHY

II. EARLY EUROPEAN EXPLORATION AND COLONIZATION

III. CAUSES OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION

IV. BATTLES OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION

V. THE DECLARATION OF INDEPENDENCE

VI. DILEMMAS FOR THE EARLY GOVERNMENT

VII. THE CONSTITUTION OF THE UNITED STATES

VIII. THE NEW REPUBLIC & WESTWARD EXPANSION

IX. CAUSES OF THE AMERICAN CIVIL WAR

X. THE CIVIL WAR

XI. RECONSTRUCTION

Grade Level 8

Lara Olarte lolarte@pthsd.net
Kate Cernak kcernak@pthsd.net
Frank Folino ffolino@pthsd.net

teachtci.com

http://sharepoint.pthsd.k12.nj.us/ci/Approved%20Curriculum/SST508%20Grade%208%20World%20History%20and%20World%20History%20Honors%20500-1500%20%20%201-8-2014.pdf

The World History, 500-1500, curriculum is designed to provide students with a rigorous and challenging approach to the study of the political, social, economic, and cultural traditions of the world from 500-1500. Students will progress from a geographic and cultural approach of history to a more formal, and thorough chronological and thematic examination of global history with a focus on the rise and fall of civilizations, their long lasting contributions to humanity, and their timeless universal commonalities. These enduring understandings will be taught within the framework of The Ancient Americas, The African Kingdoms, The Rise and Spread of Islam, Middle Age China and Japanese Feudalism, and New Europe. Some of the themes that will be an integral part of instruction include the movement of goods and people, the impact of religion and geography on culture, and political change on various global societies. A primary goal of the curriculum is to provide students with a global frame of 

 


Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2017 West Corporation. All rights reserved.